Day 27: The Last Day

Posted: August 10, 2013 in OJT Days: the Adventures of a Journalist-in-Training

Tuesday, May 21, 2013 was my last day of internship. Oh how the time has passed. I went to the place where I first started: the MMDA press office. All that Sir Mike instructed me to do that day was to monitor the news, check for updates on cases—as if it was a regular day. But for me it really wasn’t. The only reporter there in the office was Ma’am Lizel of Bulletin. She actually congratulated me upon knowing it was my last day.

Surprisingly, there was not much activity that day. All I picked up was a wing van and motorcycle accident, leaving one dead on the spot, but it wasn’t used since the accident happened near Manila. Trish arrived a couple of minutes before lunch. She was going to have her evaluation and articles signed too.

Since there was nothing to do, we went on ahead to meet Sir Mike at Starbucks in Glorietta 5 after lunch, where he will sign our evaluation forms and basically wrap up our internship. There he gave us last guidelines, last tips for the road about the field, about what to do in the future, about what to expect after graduation. It was all very useful and I appreciate every bit of it. I also did appreciate Coffee Jelly he bought as a treat, as it will probably be the last. After he signed the evaluation and sealed the envelope, I was actually having graduation goggles. It’s like I don’t want the internship to end, and it feels like I don’t want to go to school anymore. I was getting used to the routine of going to police stations, talking to officials, monitoring news, writing articles and meeting deadlines.

I guess the best thing this whole experience left me is to be excited for the real thing. I am thankful for all the experiences, thankful to Sir Mike for the mentoring and thankful that I had the privilege to cover stories and events and was part of bringing the truth to the people. The internship is done. That’s one step towards being a real journalist. After 27 days of being a journalist-in-training, I’m looking forward to the future even more.

Any thoughts, comments and reactions whatsoever? :)

